Music from 2023 that I listened to and liked

Mike Murphy
2 min readDec 31, 2023

--

A few of the albums we picked up this year

In college, I was in a band and ran a radio station. Music was a massive part of my life. Each year, I would make a little list of the albums that I listened to and enjoyed that were released in that year. I kept that going for a long while, but I haven’t done one in seven years. I guess it was partly down to apathy, the pandemic, and getting older, but this year I did listen to a few new things that I really enjoyed. I drove a lot more, revived my record player, and got a nice pair of noise-canceling earpods, so I spent more time listening to music than recent years. So I thought I’d revive this series.

I present to you (assuming anyone is reading this) a random, but alphabetical, list of the albums that I enjoyed this year:

Animal Collective
Isn’t It Now?

Blur
Ballad of Darren

Boygenius
The Album

Califone
Villagers

James Blake
Playing Robots Into Heaven

M83
Fantasy

Neil Young
Time Fades Away 50

Sincere Engineer
Cheap Grills

Slowdive
everything is alive

Sufjan Stevens
Javelin

The Hold Steady
The Price of Progress

The Tallest Man on Earth
Henry St.

Wednesday
Rat Saw God

Yo La Tengo
This Stupid World

--

--

Mike Murphy

Online writer and editor, longtime tech reporter. Past stories of mine can be found at: mikeis.online